1st, 2nd & 3rd for DCU teams at IrlCPC

IrlCPC AIPO 2018Saturday 10th March - This year's AIPO secondary school team of John Ryan, Kieran Horgan and Oisin O'Duibhir won the 2018 Irish Collegiate Programming Competition (IrlCPC) in UCC. These whizzkids posted a perfect score of 71 points in just 1 hour 40 minutes into the 4 hour algorithmic competition.

Unfortunately as they are still at secondary school they were unable to collect the IrlCPC title. This went to the top undergraduate team of Noah Donnelly, Cian Ruane and Ciara Godwin from DCU. A combined CPSSD and CA team sporting Swiss t-shirts courtesy of Noah's internship at Google Zurich. 3rd place went to the CPSSD veterans of Darragh Griffin, Conor Griffin and Ryan Connell. These three DCU teams all posted perfect scores of 71, the only teams to achieve this out of 40 university teams competing.

AIPO teams have now got top spot at IrlCPC three out of the last five years, which is an amazing achievement for students who are still at school. The AIPO team to represent Ireland at the prestigious International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) will be selected over a three day bootcamp in DCU on 6/7/8th April. 

IrlCPC DCU 2018DCU computing teams have dominating the top spots at the IrlCPC for the past five years, with Conor, Darragh and Ryan's team winning the undergraduate titles in 2015 and 2016. In fact most of the DCU winning teams over the past five years have been graduates of the AIPO program showing the advantage these students have with learning to code and compete at young age. Noah Donnelly was on the Irish team that travelled to the IOI2015 in Kazakhstan and Conor Griffin was on the Irish team that travelled to the IOI2014 in Taiwan.

A full list of the teams can be found on the UCC ACM Student Chapter page: