2017 National Programming Olympiad @ DCU

AIPO 2017 - Senior WinnersAIPO 2017 Senior Winners - (L-R) 3rd - Oisín O'Duibhir, Scoil Mhuire Agus Íde, Limerick; 1st - John Ryan, St. Josephs College, Thules; 2nd - Kieran Horgan, Davis College Mallow

The cream of BT Young Scientists and CoderDojo took up the challenge of the National Programming Olympiad (AIPO) competition at DCU during the mid-term break (25/2/17). Sponsored by Fidelity Investments Ireland, 33 students from around Ireland flexed their coding muscles in one of the tough competitions in the country for second level students. After qualifying through an online preliminary round, the students had to code solutions for 8 algorithmic puzzles to be crowned 2017 National AIPO Champion.

2017 BT Young Scientist Technology category winner and budding Data Scientist John Ryan (17) from St. Joseph’s College, Borrisoleigh, Thurles clinched his first Senior title with a score of 425 from a possible maximum of 600. He was closely followed in 2nd place by his 2016 Team Ireland comrade, CoderDojo Mallow’s Kieran Horgan (16) with a score of 370 points. Newcomer Oisín O’Duibhir (16) took the bronze medal with a score of 360 points. The Junior top prize went to Suneet Mahajan (14) who was competing with our youngest competitor, his sister, Ayushi (11), both from Douglas, Cork.

All of the talented youngsters at the National Finals are self taught to the level of a 2nd year University student. This shows their passion and dedication to coding, technology and self-learning. A remarkable accolade!

CPSSD Team take Irish title @ Google HashCode Competition

hashcode2017CPSSD 2nd years, Noah Donnelly and Cian Ruane, came out on top of 53 University teams from around Ireland at this year’s Google HashCode competition held in the School of Computing last thursday evening (23/2/17). What’s more amazing is that their webform crushing team (name) '"><script>alert()</script> placed 164th out of 2815 teams from various Institutions from around European, Middle East and Africa. That puts them in the top 5%, a fantastic achievement.
Google HashCode is a team competition where teams a given a real-life engineering problem from Google to solve. Past problems have included Optimizing Street View Routing or planning altitude and direction of a fleet of LTE equipped balloons to provide Internet to remote areas. This year, students had to optimize the video-serving infrastructure behind YouTube to handle requests reliably and quickly. See below for the problem statement.

Dr. Páraic Sheridan wins Eng & Computing Faculty Alumni Award

Paraic Sheridan and Andy Way, Adapt CentreDr. Paraic Sheridan, Associate Director in ADAPT, was amoung the honoured at the Inaugural DCU Alumni Awards held in the Helix last Friday night, 17th February 2017.

The DCU Alumni Awards celebrate the wonderful achievements of DCU alumni across the world. Ten awardees to be added to the Alumni Wall in DCU Library and five special awards for outstanding contribution to Irish Society. It is a fantastic night of celebration, entertainment and recognition of our DCU community.

DCU president Brian MacCraith said: “Their accomplishments, across so many aspects of society, are a source of great pride to DCU and an inspiration to present and future generations of DCU students.”

ComputeTY2 - ComputeTY's Top Programmers!

ComputeTY2 winners

L-R – Dr. John McKenna and Gary Conway, School of Computing - Maxym Balashchuk, Ardgillan College, Michael O’Neill, St. Fintan’s School Sutton and Rico Duessmann Mount Temple Comprehensive, all winners of ComputeTY2 and Prema Bhuiyan, Bank of Ireland sponsor.

DCU School of Computing run a ComputeTY programme every year taking in approximately 380 TY students from North Dublin and South Meath to give them a taste of Undergraduate Computer Science. This year for the first year thanks to Bank of Ireland, the cream of ComputeTY were invited back to further their computing skills with the aim of preparing them for entry in the All-Ireland Programming Olympiad (AIPO) also hosted in DCU.  

Bank of Ireland put up three mini iPads for the winners of a programming contest held at the end of the day. The results were:
  1. Michael O’Neill, St. Fintan’s School Sutton
  2. Rico Duessmann Mount Temple Comprehensive
  3. Maxym Balashchuk, Ardgillan College
Although there were three winners, all the ComputeTY students should be commended for achievement of reaching the second day. These students consumed the first four to five weeks of our first year Python Undergraduate course in a week and a day!
Syndicate content